Greg Brophy: Chief Executive Officer

Mr. Brophy has served in a number of diverse operating roles throughout his career. Positions have included executive officer roles in two public companies (NYSE & NASDAQ), president of four distinct business groups, and head of business development with significant M&A and corporate finance experience. Operating roles have been in the medical device, biomedical, and healthcare services sectors, with experience ranging from a dynamic high growth environment to division turnaround responsibilities in connection with the break up of a public company. Mr. Brophy holds a B.S. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Notre Dame; a Juris Doctor from the University of Georgia School of Law; and a MBA from the MIT Sloan School of Management.


Daniel Peterson, MD: Chief Medical Officer, Chairman, Co-founder

Dr. Peterson is a neurosurgeon and an adjunct professor in biomedical engineering at The University of Texas at Austin. He received his MD from University of Colorado Health Science Center School of Medicine, and completed both internship and residency at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. Dr. Peterson has consulted for Stryker Spine, Osteomed Spine, and Orthokinematics, and was the Austin PI in a phase III clinical trial using LDR Spine's Mobi-C artificial cervical disc.   


John Joyoprayitno: Chief Operating Officer, Co-founder

Mr. Joyoprayitno oversees general operations and business development. Mr. Joyoprayitno has over 13 years of entrepreneurial experience, founding, launching, growing, and managing companies ranging from medical, automotive, to consulting (medical, utility, technology, recreation). Mr. Joyoprayitno earned an MS in Technology Commercialization from The McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin.


Sarah Mayes, PhD: VP of R&D, Co-founder

Dr. Mayes is a co-inventor of the Alafair technology. Dr. Mayes oversees preclinical and clinical work as well as pipeline product development. Dr. Mayes earned a Ph.D. in biomedical engineering from The University of Texas at Austin. She earned an MS in material science & engineering from The University of Michigan, Ann Arbor.



Scott Zawko, PhD: Chief Scientific Officer

Dr. Zawko is a co-inventor of the Alafair technology. He is an engineer specializing in biomaterials whose work has been published in peer-reviewed journals. Dr. Zawko oversees intellectual property and product development. Dr. Zawko earned a PhD in chemical engineering from the University of Texas at Austin.


Ben Walthall, PhD: Chief Regulatory Officer

Dr. Walthall brings over 30 years of varied experience in new technology and product development. He is the author of numerous peer-reviewed articles and holds several patents in the biomedical field. Prior to joining Alafair, Dr. Walthall served as VP of R&D for Zimmer Biologics where he was responsible for directing biologic and drug delivery R&D in areas such as bone healing, spinal disc regeneration, restoration of soft tissue function, and cartilage repair. He has previously held senior positions in a variety of medical device companies managing technology strategies, portfolio management, and PD. Dr. Walthall earned a PhD in biochemistry from The University of Texas at Austin.

Bhushan Hole high resolution.jpg

Bhushan Holay: VP of Finance

Mr. Holay has worked in the medical device industry for over a decade, with experience in research, product development, project management, and marketing. Prior to Alafair, he lead the product development and commercialization efforts at Zimmer, Inc developing several commercially available implant biologics. Mr. Holay earned an MBA from The McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin and an MS in chemical engineering from Syracuse University.